Working for strong schools, safe streets and smart development in my local community as well as the state of Maryland and America. One person can make a difference!

Wednesday, February 21, 2007

Transportation Forum on February 22, 2007

Rail on the Wilson Bridge: How to move forward?
A forum sponsored by Prince George’s Advocates for Community-based Transit
All are welcome!
Thursday, February 22, 7:00 pm to 8:45 pm
Oxon Hill Public Library
6200 Oxon Hill Road, Oxon Hill, MD 20745
Light refreshments will be provided.
Question-and-answer session included
Founded in 2003, Prince George's Advocates for Community-based Transit is a growing advocacy group. We seek accessible transit and livable communities for Prince George's County. Membership is free.
Visit us at
Prince George’s ACT, PO Box 22
Hyattsville, MD 20781

Invited speakers
U.S. Rep. Al Wynn, U.S. Rep. Steny Hoyer, County executive Jack Johnson, community activists Donna Edwards and Ollie Anderson, transit activist Harry Sanders

Wednesday, February 14, 2007

Democratic National Committee (DNC) 2007 Winter Meeting


The Democratic National Committee (“DNC”) 2007 Winter Meeting was held at the Washington Hilton Hotel February 1-3, 2007, on Friday morning Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid reminded us that the Democratic Party not only had a political victory, but we made history when we took control of the House of Representatives and elevated Nancy Pelosi to the position of Speaker of the House (Maryland is proud that we are represented in the national leadership ranks by Majority Leader Steny Hoyer and Democratic Congressional Campaign Committee Chairman Chris Van Hollen) . The DNC also passed the attached Resolution:

The DNC celebrated the success of Governor Howard Dean’s 50-state strategy, especially here in the Eastern Region as evidenced by the following victories:
Connecticut: Joe Courtney (CD-2) and Chris Murphy (CD-5)
Maryland: Ben Cardin (Sen.), John Sarbanes (CD-3), Anthony Brown - Lt. Governor and Martin O’Malley - Governor
Massachusetts: Deval Patrick - Governor
New Hampshire: Carol Shea-Porter (CD-1) and Paul Hodes (CD-2)
New Jersey: Robert Menendez (Sen.), Albio Sires (CD-13)
New York: Yvette Clark (CD-11), John Hall (CD-19), Krisen Gillibrand (CD-20), Michael Arcuri (CD-24), David Paterson – Lt. Governor, Eliot Spitzer – Governor
Pennslyvania: Bob Casey (Sen), Jason Altmire (CD-4), Joe Sestak (CD-7), Patrick Murphy (CD-8) and Christopher Carney (CD-10)
Rhode Island: Sheldon Whithouse (Sen.)
Vermont: Bernice Sanders (I-D), Peter Welch (CD-1)
Virgin Islands: John Dejongh –Governor

The Democratic Convention is scheduled to convene August 25, 2008 in Denver, Colorado all delegates to the convention must be selected by June 21, 2008. The highlight of the winter meeting was the opportunity to hear speeches, meet with and talk to the ten 2008 Presidential hopefuls. If you were unable to attend you may view the meeting on the web at: or you may visit: . Once you listen to the ten candidates if you wish to contact them you may click on the links below for more information:

Sen. Joe Biden, Gen. Wesley Clark, Sen.Hillary Clinton, Sen. Chris Dodd,
Sen. John Edwards, Sen. Mike Gravel,
Rep. Dennis Kucinich, Sen. Barack Obama,
Gov. Bill Richardson,
Gov. Tom Vilsack