responsiblegovernmentpg

Working for strong schools, safe streets and smart development in my local community as well as the state of Maryland and America. One person can make a difference!

Wednesday, January 12, 2005

SCHOOL BOARD LEGISLATION

Please send the letter below to your state senator and all your delegates. A list of Delegation members with their postal and email addresses is also attached. If you do not know your legislator check here: http://mdelect.net/

SAMPLE LETTER TO DELEGATES AND SENATORS

(Date)

The Honorable ___________(omit for email)
(See attached addresses)

Dear (Delegate)(Senator)_________________:

I urge you to support Delegate Parker’s bill, PG 409-05, to restore the elected school board for Prince George’s County in 2006 with nine, single-member districts.

I don't like the current law with all nine members to be elected at large. They would not represent me and would only be accountable to the powerbrokers and special interests who got them elected. I want someone directly accountable to me and my community.

I don’t like a mixed board, either. The proposal for six district seats and three at-large members is like Question H only worse. The districts would be 50 percent larger, my voice would be smaller, and the three at-large members still would be accountable only to the politicians and developers who put them in office. Also, the mixed-board bill would let the school board conduct all of its business in secret executive sessions. The county’s voters rejected the idea of at-large seats when we voted against Question H last year. They were no good for the County Council, and they are no good for the school board.

Instead, I want a school board with all its members accountable to people like me in small single-member districts where they will listen to our problems, be our advocates, and give voice to the diversity that is Prince George’s greatest strength. I also want the board to conduct its business in public and limit what it can discuss in executive session. That’s what the Parker bill does, and you should support it.

Your vote in this matter is important to me, and I am holding you accountable for the outcome. Please represent me by voting for the Parker bill and against any bill that includes at-large seats on the school board.

Sincerely,


Name
Address
PRINCE GEORGE’S COUNTY LEGISLATIVE DELEGATION
DISTRICTS AND MEMBERS

DISTRICT 21
Senator John A. Giannetti, Jr.
Delegate Barbara A. Frush
Delegate Pauline H. Menes
Delegate BrianR. Moe

DISTRICT 22
Senator Paul G. Pinsky
Delegate Tawanna P. Gaines
Delegate Anne Healey
Delegate Justin D. Ross

DISTRICT 23
Senator Leo E. Green
District 23A:
Delegate Mary A.Conroy
Delegate James W.Hubbard
District 23B
Delegate Marvin E. Holmes, Jr.

DISTRICT 24
Senator Nathaniel Exum
Delegate Joanne C. Benson
Delegate Carolyn J.B. Howard
Delegate Michael L. Vaughn
DISTRICT 25
Senator Ulysses Currie
Delegate Anthony G. Brown
Delegate Dereck E. Davis
Delegate Melony G. Griffith

DISTRICT 26
Senator Gloria G. Lawlah
Delegate Darryl A. Kelley
Delegate Obie Patterson
Delegate Veronica L. Turner

DISTRICT 27
Senator Thomas V. Mike Miller, Jr.
District 27A
Delegate James E. Proctor, Jr.
Delegate Joseph F. Vallario, Jr.

DISTRICT 47
Senator Gwendolyn T. Britt
Delegate Doyle L. Niemann
Delegate Rosetta C. Parker
Delegate Victor R. Ramirez



ADDRESSES FOR THE PRINCE GEORGE’S COUNTY
LEGISLATIVE DELEGATION

ADDRESSES FOR SENATORS

(For Senators Giannetti, Pinsky,
Exum, Lawlah, and Britt)
James Senate Office Building
110 College Avenue
Annapolis, MD 21401

(For Senators Green and Currie)
Miller Senate Office Building
11 Bladen Street
Annapolis, MD 21401


(For Senator Miller)
State House, H-107
Annapolis, MD 21401



ADDRESS FOR ALL DELEGATES
Lowe House Office Building
84 College Avenue
Annapolis, MD 2140
EMAIL ADDRESSES



DELEGATES:

District 21
barbara_frush@house.state.md.us
pauline_menes@house.state.md.us
brian_moe@house.state.md.us

District 22
tawanna_gaines@house.state.md.us
anne_healey@house.state.md.us
justin_ross@house.state.md.us

District 23A
mary_conroy@house.state.md.us
james_hubbard@house.state.md.us

District 23B
marvin_holmes@house.state.md.us

District 24
carolyn_howard@house.state.md.us
joanne_benson@house.state.md.us
michael_vaughn@house.state.md.us

District 25
anthony_brown@house.state.md.us
dereck_davis@house.state.md.us
melony_griffith@house.state.md.us

District 26
darryl_kelley@house.state.md.us
obie_patterson@house.state.md.us
veronica_turner@house.state.md.us

District 27A
james_proctor@house.state.md.us
joseph_vallario@house.state.md.us

District 47
doyle_niemann@house.state.md.us
rosetta_parker@house.state.md.us
victor_ramirez@house.state.md.us

SENATORS:

District 21
john_giannetti@senate.state.md.us



District 22
paul_pinsky@senate.state.md.us



District 23
leo_green@senate.state.md.us





District 24
nathaniel_exum@senate.state.md.us



District 25
ulysses_currie@senate.state.md.us



District 26
gloria_gary_lawlah@senate.state.md.us



District 27
thomas_v_mike_miller@senate.state.md.us


District 47
gwendolyn_britt@senate.state.md.us